Checking out the Qatar Foundation Student Center and an Impromptu Maternity Shoot

I feel fat. I feel like a house. Everytime I feel this way, I want to eat a big fat steak. And I feel this way all the time.

But ofcourse, now is not the time to starve myself to lose weight. I am now 30 weeks and my OB advised me that I will be scheduled to give birth by Caesarian at 37 weeks, just like when I had Aria. I was hoping my baby boy would come by October so that he could celebrate his birthday with me (i find it more economical), but I guess he would be coming along by the last week of September.

There was this recent article about a man who posed for a maternity photoshoot because his wife didn’t want one. It was hilarious and it made me realize that I really want one… Sadly, I know that I will never meet my own expectations about being all glamorous in it so I would rather be behind the camera and not infront of it. I did one for a friend a few years back and she looked great. But she was small and like I said, I am a house. A house that needs a major overhaul.

Aria speaking to mama's tummy at the Qatar Foundation Student Center
Hello baby this is Ate Aria
Aria kissing mama's tummy at the Qatar Foundation Student Center
I love you baby Marcus, Ate Aria

However, as I was glancing through pictures of my pregnancy with Aria that I noticed we didn’t take as much pictures now as we did before. Poor baby boy! We wouldn’t have a well documented birth day when he comes out just like what we did with his sister. And I feel guilty that we took extra preparations for Aria and not for baby number 2.

So I promised myself more pictures and I need to force the chubby hubby to buy me a really nice camera so that I can treat baby boy with the same kind of paparazzi royalty I did with his sister. And that he wouldn’t feel ‘unspecial’ when he grows up and starts looking for his baby pictures. I use to take weekly pictures of Aria when she was born and have pretty much all of her milestones documented.

Anyway, we went to Qatar Foundation Student Center located at the Educational City in Doha before the Eid holidays to check out their clinic (Qatar Foundation employees can get free consultation, treatment and medicine) and I thoroughly enjoyed the Architecture of that place. Actually, the entire Educational City has a lot of wonderful modern architecture waiting to be explored. I wished again I had a better camera. But I forced the chubby hubby to take pictures of me and Aria because there were a lot of perfect settings for a shoot.

Pregnant woman at the Qatar Foundation Student Center
Pregnant woman
Enjoying the spacious halls of the Qatar Foundation Student Center
Enjoying the spacious halls of the Student Center. Makes me want to be a student again
Aria and Mama at the Qatar Foundation Student Center
Aria and Mama
Qatar Foundation Student Center Big Ottomans
Aria on one of those big round ottomans.

I seriously loved that place. And they have this awesome bookstore called Tribe that sells art materials that are hard to find anywhere else. I spent a good amount of time there and Aria just kept pulling stuff off the shelves (much to the staff’s dismay). I didn’t bring my wallet though (because it was empty) and couldn’t buy anything and I really wanted to buy everything… There were plenty of seating areas in different designs where students can study (or pretend to study). They also have sports facilities that Qatar Foundation employees could use. I am looking forward to the GIGANTIC library that they are opening soon. Hopefully by then I would have a driver’s license (and a mini cooper) so that me and the kids can visit during the day. Oh how I love libraries and the smell of books (old and new)!

Show me some love!!!

