We made taho!!! – silken tofu in brown sugar syrup

If you were a kid in Manila during the 80’s (or maybe even the 90’s), you probably were one of those who looked forward to mr. mangtataho (taho vendor) in the mornings to get your early ration of the delicacy. When I went back to Manila for university, I never got the chance to hear the vendor shouting ‘taho!’. Not even once. Fortunately, there was one on campus near the gate where I could satisfy my cravings.

There are a couple of Pinoy restaurants/cafeterias in Dubai that serves taho. But the servings are so small and the price too high that I opt to not buy one. So when one of my friends told me about making your own, I immediately jumped on the idea and bought the ingredients as soon as I came across silken tofu.

It was also very fortunate that my favorite supermarket baqer mohebi (who always has AED 1 bargains) sold the silken tofu for guess how much? 1 AED! So I bought several and made sure I shared with the kids who lived in our villa.

Ingredients

– Silken tofu
– Brown sugar
– Tapioca pearls (optional) or sago pearls
– water

  1. Pour 4 cups of water in a cooking pot and bring to a boil.
  2. Put-in the tapioca pearls and cook for 40 minutes in medium heat. For sago cook for 20-25 minutes.
  3. Add 1/4 cup brown sugar and mix well.
  4. Turn off the heat and let the tapioca pearls sit  until cool.
  5. In a saucepan pour-in 1/2 cup of water and add 1 cup of brown sugar once the water starts to boil.
  6. Mix well and simmer for 1 minute
  7. Transfer the silken tofu in a container and microwave on high for a minute.
  8. Top the silken tofu with the cooked tapioca pearls and sweet syrup.

Recipe adapted from panlasang pinoy

2 thoughts on “We made taho!!! – silken tofu in brown sugar syrup”

Show me some love!!!

