Creating more storage space

This is a dilemma for a lot of people who share apartments here in Dubai. We, for one, are living in a villa and occupying a room without built in storage. And I have lots of stuff. When I say lots, I mean LOTS. Frank gives me a hard time about it ALL THE TIME. But this is me and he has a lifetime to get used to it. 🙂

The best solution that I came up with is to section one wall as a storage area. I saw this solution at my younger brother’s house in Singapore. One wall was covered with a faux wall that has a sliding door and behind it they kept all the crap that they have! I loved it but never really thought I would apply it until we moved to this villa. I also posted about it here.

Here is what we ended up with.

our storages behind a curtain

We created a shelf that has a depth of 60 cm to run the entire length of the wall. We had to make the shelf in two pieces. We installed the shelf at a height of 2.5 M so that we would have plenty of space at the top to store boxes and even our unused suitcases. Then we installed curtains for cover.

We had two of these Ikea wardrobes with fabric sides which went in there. We were also able to fit in our laundry hamper and our ironing basket.

Cheap wardrobe solution from Ikea

There was still space for one 60 cm width bookcase so I put my bookcase at the end to hide some of my crap. 🙂

Here is a peek inside. Don’t want to show the entire thing because its still MESSY! lol

Maybe in a few months we can upgrade with a sliding door, but why bother? We’re all just transients anyway. But I guess it would look nicer. However, this is already a pretty good solution for the lack of storage most of us face. Maybe next time I’d cover the entire height of the wall too for MORE storage.

We didn’t spend more than AED 500 for this solution. The boards amounted to AED 100, the shelves inside were preexisting. I used old Ikea duvet covers for the curtains. Not bad…

 

3 thoughts on “Creating more storage space”

Show me some love!!!

