Tiramisu without the mascarpone

I had been planning to make tiramisu for quite a while now but never had the opportunity due to Aria’s constant need to be attached to my hips. I bought the savoiardi balocco lady fingers on sale at Baqer Mohebi in Bur Dubai for 3 bucks for a pack of 20. Now these things usually cost around AED 15 so I snatched 2 packs with the thought that I would be making tiramisu soon. It took around 2 months before I made them and they were a day expired when I did. I thought it was okay since it was just a day. Nobody got sick after eating it anyway so I guess it’s all good in the hood. And mind you, it was pretty good.

I didn’t have any mascarpone cheese on hand. Those things are expensive. And I am the queen of substitutes (self proclaimed) so I decided to substitute the mascarpone with cream cheese, heavy cream and a tablespoon of lemon juice. I got the tiramisu recipe from the bag of lady fingers so I decided to share it here. I skipped the alcohol and its still as good.

Tiramisu

36 Balocco Ladyfingers
5 egg yolks
1 whipped egg white
150 grams sugar
12 coffee-cups (I used brewed coffee without sugar from Bo’s cafe)
1 small glass of liquor of your choice (I skipped this)
powdered plain cocoa

Mascarpone Cheese subsititute

450 g (816oz) package cream chees
118 ml (1/2 cup) heavy whipping cream
1 tbsp lemon juice (freshly squeezed)
Combine all mascarpone cheese substitute ingredients. Set aside.
Beat the egg yolks together with sugar in a bowl until you obtain a frothy mixture; stir in the cheese and mix carefully. Add the whipped egg white and then the liquor. Mix well into a smooth cream. In a baking dish, spread a layer of cream, soak the ladyfingers in coffee, turning them on both sides, and then line them on top of the cream. Pour a second layer of cream onto the ladyfingers and then arrange more ladyfingers soaked in coffee. Top with another layer of cream, spreading it evenly with a spatula. Using a sieve, sprinkle the powdered cocoa generously over the cream. Put into the refrigerator for at least two hours. The “Tiramisu” is at it’s best of your prepare it one day in advance.
My only set back was that the lady fingers were just too wet. I read from online forums that it would be ideal to not soak but brush the lady fingers with coffee.
too much coffee at the bottom that I had to drain it.
coffee beans from Bo’s Coffee

 
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Show me some love!!!

