Want to start dieting? Kick it off with a chocolate cake!

Yesterday I started my “less rice to no rice” diet and it was also the first time I finally got the chance to bake that cake I have been wanting to bake since the beginning of the century. There was this SUPER easy recipe that I found on bestrecipes.com and yesterday, Aria was pretty much manageable. I originally wanted to make cupcakes but I didn’t have a cupcake tray so I planned to make a layered cake instead.

I also only had a 6″ x 6″ square pan so I used that and just cut the cake into four equal squares. My cake was just small enough for me to share a bite with DH.

my puny cake

I made too much peanut butter frosting though. I had a jar of peanut butter that supposedly expired on the 31st of March but still looked good. I think it wasnt expired yet because I ate the frosting and until now, my stomach is upset free.

The cake wasn’t that bad but I think I overdid the frosting. Since I still have a lot of the peanut butter cream frosting left, any recommendations on how I can make it less sweet?

SUPER DUPER EASY CHOCOLATE CAKE

from bestrecipes.com

Ingredients
1 cup sifted self-raising flour
3 tbspoons sifted cocoa
1 cup caster sugar
3 tbspoons butter
1/3 cup milk
2 eggs

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and pour into cake tin. Bake at 180degC for around 30 minutes.

PEANUT BUTTER CREAM FROSTING 

adapted from www.tasteofhome.com

Ingredients
1/2 cup peanut butter
3 1/2 cups confectioner’s sugar
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
6 tablespoons low fat milk
1 sachet of alicafe (optional)

Cream the peanut butter until light and fluff. Beat in the sugar in batches, vanilla, coffee and milk until well mixed.

easeee peezeee – perfect with tea

Need to tweak it some more to make it perfect, but overall, good job! I’m giving myself a pat on the back. No to Rice! Yes to cake!!!

2 thoughts on “Want to start dieting? Kick it off with a chocolate cake!”

Show me some love!!!

