A case of iPad withdrawal

picture courtesty of http://www.psdisasters.com/ – oh how I wish that were me.

Its 6 in the morning and I have been awake for the past hour. Although being awaken at 5 in the morning is part of my daily routine with Aria, I can’t seem to go back to sleep because something is missing.

Yesterday we went to Abu Dhabi to practice for an upcoming concert. A friend borrowed my iPad and drained the battery playing candy crush. She decided to charge it and completely forgot about it. We only found out when we were already on our way back to Dubai and the folks from the church in Abu Dhabi called and told us we forgot our iPad. The driver (who happens to be my husband) asked me if I wanted to come back for it. We were already 15 minutes into the drive so I said I can just get it on our next practice which happens to be on Monday. So I am iPadless in the next few days.

Usually when Aria wakes me up in the middle of the night for some snuggling or breast-feeding, I open my iPad and play candy crush… or train warriors in clash of clans… or harvest my crops in hay day… or burst bubbles in bubble safari or just catch up on some reading with my google reader… An hour ago, when she started crying, I just breast-fed her in the dark. It was weird, and I kept thinking of the level that I am in in Candy crush and my village in Clash of clans and the crops I have to harvest or the additional articles I wont be able to read… My fingers were moving in the dark, pressing and imaginary screen in the air… Last night, I wanted to bake something but I didn’t have my iPad where I had some recipes stored. I thought it too inconvenient to keep going back and forth from the PC to the kitchen so my laziness got the best of me and I didn’t do any baking.

So after breast feeding and Aria went back to sleep, I just lay there in the dark. Thinking… Missing my iPad… Thinking of who will be raiding my village in clash of clans and how much trophies I might be losing… Thinking of Candy crush… Then I realized I can play the stupid game on my laptop!!!

So I stood up in the dark, opened my macbook, logged on to Facebook, tried to find the application and I played the game… and after completing one level I realized how petty I seem to be… and how much better it is to play on my iPad… and how much I miss the feeling of it’s screen on my fingertips…

So I wrote this post out of the sheer need to share my confession to an addiction.

It’s going to be a long way till Monday. I hope I don’t end up throwing up or something…

2 thoughts on “A case of iPad withdrawal”

Show me some love!!!

