I finally have a Silhouette Cameo!

One of my wishlist items last year was a Silhouette Cameo and I never expected I would be getting one this year- big thanks to the kind folks at the customer service of Silhouette America and a special mention to Kim of Today’s Creative Blog who helped forward my request .

It arrived a day before Christmas but only got to test it right after the holidays…

the big box of happiness

Merry Christmas to me!!!

I didn’t have any project planned with the silhouette so I just tested a pattern that came free with the software and the quality of the cut was far better than the old Silhouette SD.

precision cutting

The only thing that bothers me is that the new software that comes with the cameo – the Silhouette Studio – does not have the function to ‘get outline’s of the customized shapes that you upload into it unlike the Craft Robo program that came with the old Silhouette SD. If you want to base a cut from a Jpeg photo, you have to trace it yourself which would take a long time if you’re not fast with these kind of stuff- and a drag if you are impatient like me.

Fortunately, I still had the old Craft Robo program on my computer (windows based) which made the conversion of the jpg file to a cutting file so much more easier!

I decided to make this family tree for my brother so that I can frame it.

my brother’s family tree

…my crafting need satisfied.

3 thoughts on “I finally have a Silhouette Cameo!”

Show me some love!!!

