My own version of YO! Sushi’s Aubergine with Harusame Sauce

I have tried so hard to find the recipe for this plate from YO! Sushi which costs roughly around AED 15 for a few slices of aubergine, but there was no harusame sauce anywhere on google. What I did find is a bunch of recipes for Harusame salad saying that ‘harusame’ is a type of noodle…  and I was not in the mood for noodles. I wanted Aubergine!

aubergine

If you are not familiar with YO! Sushi it is a sushi resto well known for its sushi belt and colored plates that correspond to different price ranges. You can read about more of them here. My mom and I observed the sushi people a lot of times while they prepared this plate so I just tried to recreate the dish using the stuff that I already have.

Rachel’s Aubergine with some sorta soy sauce (no permanent name yet)

Aubergine with soy sauce dressing
Ingredients:

3 tablespoon Soy Sauce (I used an organic soy sauce I bought at a Korean/Japanese store near the Karama post office which has the perfect ‘oriental’ taste)
my oriental soysauce
2 tablespoon white vinegar (3 tablespoon if you have rice vinegar)
2 tablespoon brown sugar
sesame oil
honey
1 fat aubergine

Cut the aubergines into 4mm thick slices.
I used my airfryer for this, so on a separate bowl, I mixed just enough sesame oil, a little honey and a dash of soy sauce to dip each and every slice before putting into airfryer.
sliced and dippedMix the soy sauce, white vinegar, sugar and sesame oil (around 2 tablespoons) in a big bowl.
Once aubergines are done, put into sauce and enjoy!
CHOW TIME!
I added some yellow and green peppers for frying and cut up a cucumber to add to the salad as a counter for the taste. It turned out as a success or I wouldn’t be blogging it. 🙂
If you do try it, let me know what you think or what changes you added if you tweaked it a bit.

4 thoughts on “My own version of YO! Sushi’s Aubergine with Harusame Sauce”

Show me some love!!!

