Spicy Chicken with peanuts stir fry

 

Ok, I seriously do not have any idea what to call this recipe. Originally, it was suppose to be chicken and cashew but I didn’t have any at home. When I cook, I never cook with complete ingredients; I always have to substitute what I have ready in the kitchen. So when I decided to tackle this recipe, I made up my mind that I would use some leftover peanuts that I had stocked for baking.

Based this on the chicken and cashew stir-fry recipe from epicurious.com

Ingredients

  • Scallions, chopped separating white and green parts (more popularly known as spring onions. Had to research that one)
  • Previously prepared 300 g chicken breast chopped, lightly salted and peppered
  • Salt
  • Black pepper
  • Vegetable oil
  • 4-5 cloves Finely chopped garlic
  • 1 ½ tablespoon Finely chopped ginger
  • ¼  teaspoon Dried hot red-pepper flakes
  • 1 ½ tablespoon Soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Sugar
  • ½ cup peanuts
  • ¾  cup chicken broth (I didn’t have any chicken broth so I substituted this with ¾ cup water with 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce)
  • 1 ½ teaspoons cornstarch

Procedure

  • Prepare all ingredients.
  • I usually prepare chicken beforehand and store in the fridge (as advised here by my good friend the charmed wife) so my chicken was already cut and seasoned with salt and pepper.
  • Stir together broth (water with Worcestershire), cornstarch, sugar and soy sauce in a small bowl. Set aside.
  • Heat your wok (I used my big pan from IKEA) and add oil.
  • Stirfry chicken till they are brown in some parts. Set aside.
  • Add bell pepper, garlic, ginger, pepper flakes, and the white part of the scallions and stir fry for about 5-6 minutes.
  • Add the broth with the cornstarch into the wok. Reduce heat and simmer until the liquid thickens. Stir in the nuts, green part of the scallions and the chicken.
  • Use salt, pepper flakes and sugar to tweak according to taste.

My husband actually loved this recipe. So it’s definitely a keeper.

One thought on “Spicy Chicken with peanuts stir fry”

Show me some love!!!

