The first day of a much needed break

Today is my first day as an official housewife and for the first meal I prepared, I chose to make something simple (and also one of DH’s favorite) called ‘Bistek Tagalog’ with my own twist of using orange marinade instead of calamansi.

The result- YUMMY FOOD!

BISTEK TAGALOG

bistek tagalog
bistek tagalog ala rachel

as adapted from panlasangpinoy.com

  • Ingredients
    300 g beef sirloin, thinly sliced (i used 1/2 sirloin and 1/2 beef stew coz sirloin is EXPENSIVE!)
    1/4 cup soy sauce
    1.5 freshly squeezed orange juice
    black pepper (i let the black pepper rip without really measuring it)
    3 cloves garlic crushed (i prefer the strong garlic taste, so i used 4 cloves)
    1 large onion, sliced into rings (i used the white onion not the purple one, coz i had some lying around in the fridge)
    cooking oil
    salt to taste
    brown sugar to enhance flavoring (optional)

Procedure

    Marinade beef in soy sauce, orange juice and black pepper for a minimum of 1 hour (i prefer to marinade meat for a longer time so that the taste will really go in.
    Heat the cooking oil in a pan then stir fry the onion rings until the texture becomes soft. set aside.
    In the same pan, fry the marinated beef (without marinade) until it turns brown. Set aside.
    Saute garlic for a few minutes in the same pan (or until you get the savory fragrance of the cooked garlic) and then add marinade until it starts to boil.
    Put in the fried beef and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes or until meat is tender. Add water as needed. If you use sirloin meat, you will find that you don’t need to add as much water.
    Add the stir fried onions and a pinch of brown sugar to enhance the flavor.

SERVE HOT -alone or with steamed veggies. I served it with steamed paksoy.

Disclaimer

I do not claim to be the original author of this recipe. I also do not claim that the measurements I used are perfect. I pretty much cook like an animal- which is i make my decisions by instinct. I think that is the best way to cook- that is to tweak and make adjustments according to your taste. Ofcourse, I am not a pro. But as long as DH is happy, I’m happy.

Show me some love!!!

